Mothers and Christmases

A bowl of my mother’s sweet spaghetti brings me back to my early childhood Christmases when life was much simpler and her sweet spaghetti was all I would look forward to on a Christmas Day. Today, life is much more complex, I look forward to bigger things, often (and guiltily) wanting more than what I deserve. Today, I am thankful for Christmas (and my mother’s sweet spaghetti) for reminding me that I can be a kid again and life can get simple at least once in a year.

There’s nothing very uncommon about the ingredients she uses – pork, a few bits of hotdog, banana ketchup, cheap cheddar and pasta (two packs you can buy for the price of one – every store has some kind of a promo), but mothers have this thing about their hands that everything they put together turns out to be something really special.

image

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mothers and Christmases

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. As it turns out I am away this year and i had spaghetti for dinner, not a traditional Christmas dinner in our house. Merry Christmas to you.

    Like

    • It’s a privilege having come across your blog & thanks for dropping a few words. Merry belated Christmas Victor! (try having your Christmas dinner at home next time :))

      Like

What are your thoughts?

