Tonight

I looked at your face

just before you slept

and what I saw was

a thousand promises

of refuge

shelter

warmth

safety

fearlessness

sanity

I did not exactly long for these things

neither did I ask them from you

only because I did not know what they

truly were

until you gave them all to me

without questions

or asking something in return

forgetting yourself

and plainly understanding

me

my irrationality

absurdity

ego

and insecurity

now as I slept

beside you

your face against my arms

your breath

sweet and carressing

I could only feel tears

free flowing down my cheeks

I would never be able to give you

the thanks that you deserve

but as I die tomorrow

you can count that the name I’d say is yours

in the hopes that in death

and obscurity

I’ll remember you

and how lucky I had been

having been

unconditionally loved

by someone

that was you.

What are your thoughts?

